Wiki leaks?

How come I never heard about this site?

The New York Times has reported over the last weeknd probably five stories on their front page and I am sure there were more on the inside of the paper and online on their websites.

Documents from the Iraq war came out that could lead to some changing views of information on the war. It touched upon civilian death, war activity and more. Some of what we thought we knew were false or misleading.

This website publishes anonymous governmental documents that anyone can view from their computer.

Do you think this is a good thing or a bad thing? Is there a reason why the government is trying to protect us or hide us from information or so you think we have a right to know everything that is going on? A confusing dilemma I must say.

Well the website obviously thinks it is a good thing because their purpose is to keep the government in check but doing so the creator is on the run because it it.

the publishing of the Iraq logs were the biggest leaks in history

In my belief, I think we have a right to konw. My opinion is pretty much bivous since I am a aspiring journalist and my job would be to do the exact thing.

What I wonder though is why do it for free in a world where everyone wants to make money why just openly publish something and then have to be on the run because of it?

Leave a comment